Applesauce Sandwiches

Like regular sandwiches…but soggier.

Storify: Facebook De-friending leads to Murder

with one comment

http://storify.com/Kolchak/facebook-defriending-leads-to-double-murder#

This is a fascinating story. To tell it, I decided to post some articles detailing the situation first and foremost. I also added a picture of the suspects for emphasis. I think that it’s importnat to be able to see who you’re reading about, particularly when addressing sich vicious crimes.

The bulk of my story focused on audience reactions. I found it interesting that so many people took the opportunity to make a joke about it. It could be genuine apathy, or it might be their way of masking their feelings towards such a grim subject. It’s hard to say. Either way, seeing a double homicide attached to such a ubiquitous social networking site spurs lots of interesting reactions, and that’s the angle I wanted to accentuate.

I think this is an interesting tool, but I don’t see it being widely adopted in the future. This is mostly due to the public at large having nothing interesting to say. The majority of the posts I came across were simply links to articles with absolutely no added commentary, and the commentary that was there was typically the same lousy jokes or comments.

There may be a use for this type of thing in the future, but I suspect it will be limited.

 

Written by kolchak

February 11, 2012 at 6:41 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well done. Good analysis. I enjoyed the Storify story (as much as someone can “enjoy” such a crazy story).

    Kyle

    February 18, 2012 at 10:59 am


Leave a Reply

